EU heads of state and government, opposition leaders of the European People’s Party (EPP) and the Presidents of the European Council, the European Commission and the European Parliament – Donald TUSK, Jean-Claude JUNCKER and Antonio TAJANI – have been invited to participate at the upcoming EPP Summit, to take place in Brussels on 13 December. On the agenda will be the preparation for the European Council meeting on 13 and 14 December.

EPP President Joseph DAUL will host the Summit. The EPP’s Spitzenkandidat for President of the European Commission and Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament, Manfred WEBER, and EPP Secretary General Antonio LÓPEZ-ISTÚRIZ and the members of the EPP Presidency will participate.

Nicos ANASTASIADES (Cyprus), Boyko BORISSOV (Bulgaria), Klaus IOHANNIS (Romania), Sebastian KURZ (Austria), Angela MERKEL (Germany), Viktor ORBÁN (Hungary), Andrej PLENKOVIĆ (Croatia), and Leo VARADKAR (Ireland) are currently the EPP heads of state and government in the European Council.

EPP Summit:

Date: 13 December 2018 from 12:30 until 15:00

Venue: Académie Royale de Belgique, Rue Ducale 1 (close to Metro Trône)

Press registration:

Please register by Wednesday, 12 December at 13:00 by using the following e-form:


The EPP Press Team has created an alert system especially for journalists through WhatsApp. If you wish to receive live updates and announcements during the Summit, please send us a short message with your name and media to the following EPP Press Team number +32471808006 so that we add you to the list of recipients.

Note to the Press:

The press area will open at 11:00

The EPP will be offering live info and photo feeds from the EPP Summit through its official Twitter, Facebook and Flickr accounts. Video footage will also be available via satellite after the Summit. Follow us live and get an insight on how our leaders prepare the European Council:




For security reasons, please ensure that you bring a valid form of identification: journalists and cameramen will be given access to the venue upon presentation of their accreditation badges issued by the European Council, or their national press ID cards. Journalists without one of these documents must contact Karine Milheiro (e-mail: