The European People’s Party (EPP) will hold its Congress on 29 and 30 March in Malta. Detailed information can be found at

Co-hosted by Partit Nazzjonalista leader Simon BUSUTTIL, EPP President Joseph DAUL and EPP Secretary General Antonio LÓPEZ-ISTÚRIZ, in the presence of EPP Group Chairman Manfred WEBER, the Congress in Malta is dedicated to securing Europe’s future and will focus on foreign and security policies as well as economic and digital realities.

2,500 participants from more than 40 countries will attend the Malta Congress.

The list of speakers on Wednesday, 29 March includes, among others:

Welcome address by PN Secretary General Rosette THAKE;

Non-EU heads of state and government: Serzh SARGSYAN (Armenia), Emil DIMITRIEV (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), Isa MUSTAFA (Kosovo), Mladen IVANIĆ (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Petro POROSHENKO (Ukraine);

Non-EU opposition leaders Anatoly LEBEDKO (Belarus), Lulzim BASHA (Albania), Mikheil SAAKAHSVILI (Georgia), Maia SANDU (Moldova);

Party presidents and EU opposition leaders: Boyko BORISSOV (Bulgaria), Janez JANŠA (Slovenia), Sybrand BUMA (The Netherlands), Anna KINBERG BATRA (Sweden), Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS (Greece), Grzegorz SCHETYNA (Poland), Marc SPAUTZ (Luxembourg).

The key police debate on the Future of Europe will be introduced by Former Belgian Prime Minister and former President of the European Council Herman VAN ROMPUY and MEP Elmar BROK. The panellists will be Polish MP Rafal TRZASKOWSKI, EPP Vice-President and Ireland’s Minister of State for European Affairs, Data Protection and the EU Single Digital Market Dara MURPHY, Leader of Sweden’s Moderate Party Anna KINBERG BATRA and Maltese MEP Roberta METSOLA.

On Wednesday, the plenary will also feature the Presidents of the Parliamentary Assemblies in the Council of Europe and in NATO, the Chairpersons of EPP Member Associations and the Chairman of the EPP Group in the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly.

The list of speakers on Thursday, 30 March includes:

Opening statement by MEP David CASA (Malta);

The President of the European Council Donald TUSK, the President of the European Commission Jean-Claude JUNCKER, the President of the European Parliament Antonio TAJANI;

EU heads of states and government: Angela MERKEL (Germany), Mariano RAJOY (Spain), Nicos ANASTASIADES (Cyprus), Klaus IOHANNIS (Romania), Enda KENNY (Ireland), Viktor ORBÁN (Hungary), Andrej PLENKOVIĆ (Croatia);

Deputy Prime Minister Arvils AŠERADENS (Latvia), Deputy Prime Minister Pavel BĔLOBRÁDEK (Czech Republic), Vice-Chancellor Reinhold MITTERLEHNER (Austria), Deputy Prime Minister Kris PEETERS (Belgium), Foreign Affairs Minister Angelino ALFANO (Italy), Finance Minister Petteri ORPO (Finland), Minister of Defence Margus TSAHKNA (Estonia);

Closing speech by PN leader Simon BUSUTTIL.

The EPP Merit Award will be given to Europol; its Director, Rob WAINWRIGHT, will address the EPP delegates.