EPP Finance Ministers, co-chaired by Eurogroup President Paschal DONOHOE and European Commission Executive Vice-President Valdis DOMBROVSKIS, met this morning in Brussels to prepare today’s EU ECOFIN Council agenda. The Chairs and Ministers welcomed and congratulated Marcel-Ioan BOLOȘ for his appointment as Romania’s Minister of Finance, and Konstantinos HATZIDAKIS for his appointment as Greece’s new Minister of National Economy and Finance, following the re-election of Prime Minister Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS. The Chairs then shared an update of the Eurogroup meeting and of the EU’s general economic situation, specifically: the progress of countries in implementing the Recovery and Resilience Facility (RRF) and their country-specific plans, as well as the consequences of Russia’s war on Ukraine. In particular, they discussed the economic governance review, proposals on the digital euro and the role of cash.

Read more

For more information contact:

Maïa de la Baume

Spokesperson and Press Director mdlb@epp.eu  

Alexandra Henman

Deputy Spokesperson alh@epp.eu +32 471 90 76 84