10 April: EPP leaders to meet for Summit in Brussels ahead of European Council – list of participants

10. April 2019
EPP heads of government, party leaders, opposition leaders of the European People’s Party (EPP) and the Presidents of the European Council and the European Parliament - Donald TUSK and Antonio TAJANI - will participate in the upcoming EPP Summit, to take place in Brussels today. On the agenda is the preparation for the European Council meeting on 10 April. EPP President Joseph DAUL will host the Summit. The EPP’s Lead Candidate for the 2019 European elections and Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament, Manfred WEBER, EPP Secretary General Antonio LÓPEZ-ISTÚRIZ and the members of the EPP Presidency will participate. Heads of government Boyko BORISSOV (Bulgaria), Krišjānis KARIŅŠ (Latvia), Angela MERKEL (Germany), Andrej PLENKOVIĆ (Croatia) and Leo VARADKAR (Ireland) will participate. The Prime Minister of Norway Erna SOLBERG will also attend. Deputy Prime Minister Kris PEETERS (Belgium), party leader Sybrand BUMA (The Netherlands) and opposition leaders Frank ENGEL (Luxembourg), Janez JANŠA (Slovenia) and Marek VÝBORNÝ (Czechia) will also be present. Chief Brexit Negotiator Michel BARNIER will attend. EPP Summit: Date: 10 April 2019 from 15:30 until 18:00 Venue: Stanhope Hotel, Rue du Commerce 9, 1000 Bruxelles Note to the Press: The press registration and working area will be located at the EPP Headquarters, Rue du Commerce 10 and will open at 14:30. WhatsApp: The EPP Press Team has created an alert system especially for journalists through WhatsApp. If you wish to receive live updates and announcements during the Summit, please send us a short message with your name and media to the following EPP Press Team number +32471808006 so that we add you to the list of recipients. The EPP will be offering live info and photo feeds from the EPP Summit through its official Twitter, Facebook and Flickr accounts. Video footage will also be available via satellite after the Summit. Follow us live and get an insight on how our leaders prepare the European Council: Twitter: http://twitter.epp.eu Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/epp.eu Flickr: http://flickr.epp.eu For security reasons, please ensure that you bring a valid form of identification: journalists and cameramen will be given access to the venue upon presentation of their accreditation badges issued by the European Council, or their national press ID cards. Journalists without one of these documents must contact Karine Milheiro (e-mail: km@epp.eu).

Read more

For more information contact:


Alexandra Henman

Deputy Spokesperson

+32 471 90 76 84



Angelos Athanasopoulos

National and Regional Press Director

+32 471 90 76 35