Since 2007, the EPP has organised EPP Ministerial Meetings prior to the meetings of the Council of the EU.  These Ministerial Meetings are an offshoot of the EPP Summit and bring together EPP ministers attending the Council who are often joined by Commissioners and MEPs of the respective fields.


  • The aim of the Ministerial Meetings is to discuss and harmonise the positions of EPP ministers towards the full meeting of the Council;
  • Drafting declarations and resolutions that have been later approved by the EPP Congress and promoted as a whole in the Council.


  • Foreign Affairs, chaired by David McAllister, EPP Vice-President, MEP (DE) and Simon Coveney, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade (IE);
  • Defence, chaired by Jüri Luik, Minister of Defense (EE)
  • General Affairs, chaired by Helen McEntee, Minister for European Affairs (IE), and Karoline Edtstadler, Federal Minister of State for European Affairs (AT)
  • ECOFIN, chaired by Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission (LV), and Paschal Donohoe, Minister of Finance (EI)
  • Interior, chaired by Peter De Crem, Minister of Interior (BE), and Esteban Gonzalez Pons, MEP (ES)
  • Justice
  • Agriculture, chaired by Michael Creed, Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine (IE)
  • Energy, chaired Jerzy Buzek, MEP (PL)
  • Health, chaired by Jens Spahn, Minister of Health (DE)
  • Trade, chaired by Leo Varadkar, Deputy Prime Minister (IE)

of the EU

The Council of the European Union is the organ in charge of adopting major European decisions and acts normally along with the European Parliament, making it like that, a true law-maker of the EU.


It Is composed of a representative from each member country of the branch or field under consideration; generally a Minister or a Secretary of State. Although the Council is a single body, it meets in different configurations according to the issues being discussed. There are currently ten configurations which are:
  • General Affairs;
  • Foreign Affairs;
  • Economic and Financial Affairs;
  • Justice and Home Affairs;
  • Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs;
  • Competitiveness;
  • Transport, Telecommunications and Energy;
  • Agriculture and Fisheries and Environment;
  • Education, Youth, Culture and Sport.