Transatlantic Multi-Party Statement on China's Sanctions signed by IRI, ALDE, EPP, ECR

29. March 2021
We, the undersigned members of the Transatlantic Community, are united in expressing our grave concern over the sanctions adopted against the European Parliament’s Subcommittee on Human Rights, democracy promotion institutions, Members of Parliaments, and prominent members of civil society.  These sanctions are an assault on democratic institutions and freedom of expression and are designed to intimidate and deter criticism of the Chinese Communist Party and the Government of China.  They constitute a clear attempt to erode political will and public support for universal fundamental freedoms that are evidently at odds with the self-declared interests of the Chinese Communist Party. The Transatlantic Community stands by its steadfast belief in individual rights to liberty and democratic political representation.  It is our foundational commitment to defend these institutions and support the democratic rights to people of the world even when that comes at a cost. We are united in calling for China to end its oppressive ethnic policies in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region and restore public confidence in Hong Kong’s democratic institutions in adherence with the Sino-British Joint Declaration of 1984. For these reasons, we fully support the sanctions adopted by the Government of the United States, European Union, United Kingdom and Canada against the individuals responsible for the gross human rights violation in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region and the additional sanctions adopted by the United States in response to the deterioration of democratic rights in Hong Kong.   Signed, Daniel Twining, President of IRI Jacob Moroza-Rasmussen, Secretary General of ALDE Anna Fotyga, Secretary General of ECR Antonio López-Istúriz, Secretary General of EPP    

Read more

For more information:

Karine Milheiro
Head of Press Department +32-2-2854142

Note to editors:

The EPP is the largest and most influential European-level political party of the centre-right, which currently includes 82 parties and partners from 43 countries, the President of the European Commission, 9 EU and 5 non-EU heads of state and government, 10 members of the European Commission and the largest Group in the European Parliament.