Visit EPP Rotterdam 2022 congress page
Ahead of the parliamentary elections on 25 June in Albania, the European People’s Party (EPP) President, Joseph Daul, sent a message of support to EPP member party the Democratic Party of Albania (DPA) and to its candidates and party president, Lulzim Basha: "The parliamentary election in Albania this Sunday is not only about choosing between right or left; it is about choosing between a prosperous European future for Albania or a continuation of stagnation and uncertainty. DPA represents the only viable alternative for improving the economy, as it is the only party to have put forward a detailed plan to revive the country’s economic situation, create jobs and invest in higher education and research. A precondition to economic progress also means that Albania must carry on with judicial reform, abide by the rule of law, fight against organised crime and corruption and create opportunities for its citizens, especially for the young generations. Basha has fought over the years to modernise his country, and I trust he will remain committed to implementing all the reforms needed to bring Albania closer to European values and standards. Any interference or intention to tamper with the election results will not be tolerated. I urge the Albanian authorities to comply with all international standards to ensure that the elections are free and fair. A democratic and strong Albania will bring stability and security to the Balkans region. The newly elected government will have to accelerate with their efforts to implement the rule of law, reform the judiciary, fight against corruption and end cannabis production. Finally, I wish all DPA candidates, and DPA President Basha, all the best in this Sunday’s elections - and a sound electoral victory."

Read more

For more information:

Karine Milheiro
Head of Press Department +32-2-2854142

Note to editors:

The EPP is the largest and most influential European-level political party of the centre-right, which currently includes 81 parties and partners from 43 countries, the President of the European Commission, President of the European Parliament, 8 EU and 3 non-EU heads of state and government, 9 members of the European Commission and the largest Group in the European Parliament.