The European People’s Party has concluded day-2 of the XXVI EPP Congress in Zagreb. Today’s plenary session featured addresses of the EPP’s EU heads of State and government, Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament Manfred Weber, as well as party and opposition leaders. The EPP Congress delegates also debated how the party can take the lead in the fight against climate change by implementing sustainable policies.  After the debate, a resolution on climate action was adopted.
  • Resolution ‘EPP vision for a sustainable planet’
The resolution can be found here: The newly elected EPP President Donald Tusk committed to five youth pledges as proposed and voted on by the delegates. These pledges demonstrate the party’s commitment to engaging young people and making sure their voice is heard. The pledges can be found here:  Following the proposal of the incoming president, the Congress delegates today re-elected Secretary General Antonio López-Istúriz. The delegates also elected the ten EPP Vice-Presidents and the Treasurer. The new and complete EPP Presidency will therefore be comprised of: President: Donald Tusk, Civic Platform, Poland Secretary General: Antonio López-Istúriz, Partido Popular, Spain Vice-Presidents: (in order of the number of votes received) Mariya Gabriel, GERB, Bulgaria David McAllister, CDU, Germany Helen McEntee, Fine Gael, Ireland Johannes Hahn, ÖVP, Austria Esther De Lange, CDA, Netherlands Antonio Tajani, Forza Italia, Italy Siegfried Mureșan, PNL, Romania Franck Proust, Les Républicains, France Paulo Rangel, PSD, Portugal Petteri Orpo, Kokoomus, Finland Treasurer: Christian Schmidt, CSU, Germany Coverage and photos of the two-day Congress can be found at: Twitter: Flickr: The website of the Congress can be found at:

Read more

For more information:

Karine Milheiro
Head of Press Department +32-2-2854142

Note to editors:

The EPP is the largest and most influential European-level political party of the centre-right, which currently includes 82 parties and partners from 43 countries, the President of the European Commission, 9 EU and 5 non-EU heads of state and government, 10 members of the European Commission and the largest Group in the European Parliament.