The European People’s Party (EPP) will hold its Congress on 20 and 21 November in Zagreb, Croatia. Detailed information can be found at
The list of speakers on Wednesday 20 November includes, among others:
Opening statement by Prime Minister of Croatia and HDZ President Andrej PLENKOVIĆ. Followed by statements from EPP President Joseph DAUL, EPP Secretary General Antonio LÓPEZ-ISTÚRIZ and EPP Presidential Candidate Donald TUSK.
The EPP Merit Award will be given to President of the Bundestag, Wolgang SCHÄUBLE.
Non-EU party leader Vital RYMASHEUSKI (Belarus).
Non-EU opposition leaders Lulzim BASHA (Albania), Hristijan MICKOSKI (North Macedonia), Serzh SARGSYAN (Armenia), Yulia TYMOSHENKO (Ukraine) and Grigol VASHADZE (Georgia).
Member of the Presidency Šefik DŽAFEROVIĆ (Bosnia and Herzegovina).
Former Prime Minister Maia SANDU (Moldova).
EU opposition leaders Pablo CASADO (Spain), Adrian DELIA (Malta), Frank ENGEL (Luxembourg), Šárka JELÍNKOVÁ (Czechia), Ulf KRISTERSSON (Sweden), Gabrielius LANDSBERGIS (Lithuania) and Rui RIO (Portugal).
The EU Chief Brexit negotiator Michel BARNIER.
Non-EU Head of government Erna SOLBERG (Norway).
EU Heads of State and government Kolinda GRABAR- KITAROVIĆ (Croatia) and Angela MERKEL (Germany).
European Commission President-elect Ursula von der LEYEN.
The newly elected EPP President will address Congress delegates.
On Wednesday, the plenary will also feature the President of the Wilfried Martens Centre for European Studies, the President of the OSCE PA and the Presidents of the EPP Groups in the Committee of the Regions, Council of Europe PA, NATO PA and Euronest, as well as the Presidents of EPP Member Associations.
The policy debate ‘Western Balkans and EU: Common challenges and shared responsibilities’ will be moderated by Secretary General of the Regional Cooperation Council Majlinda BREGU. The panellists will be European Commission Vice-President-designate for Democracy and Demography, Dubravka ŠUICA, Deputy Program Director, International Republican Institute Bosnia and Herzegovina Amila KARAČIĆ and President of the Robert Schuman Institute and EPP Women Doris PACK.
At 20:30 (CET) an enlarged EPP Summit will take place.
The list of speakers on Thursday, 21 November includes:
Opening statement by Secretary-General of HDZ and President of the Croatian Parliament Gordan JANDROKOVIĆ.
EU party leaders Sebastian KURZ (Austria) and Helir-Valdor SEEDER (Estonia).
EU opposition leaders Silvio BERLUSCONI (Italy), Christian JACOB (France), Janez JANŠA (Slovenia), Petteri ORPO (Finland), Søren PAPE POULSEN (Denmark) and Grzegorz SCHETYNA (Poland).
Deputy Prime Minister Hugo DE JONGE (The Netherlands).
Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament Manfred WEBER.
EU heads of State and government Nicos ANASTASIADES (Cyprus), Boyko BORISSOV (Bulgaria), Krisjanis KARINS (Latvia), Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS (Greece), Ludovic ORBAN (Romania), Andrej PLENKOVIĆ (Croatia) and Leo VARADKAR (Ireland).
The newly elected EPP Secretary-General and EPP President will also speak.
The policy debate ‘EPP Climate Action – taking the lead’ will be moderated by EPP Deputy-Secretary General Christian KREMER. The panellists will be An Taoiseach Leo VARADKAR, Prime Minister of Greece, Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS, Professor at Potsdam University Stefan RAHMSTORF, CEO of ArboSmart Technologies Fran POSTENJAK and MEP Jessica POLFJÄRD.

Read more

For more information:

Karine Milheiro

Senior Press and Communication


Note to editors:

The EPP is the largest and most influential European-level political party of the centre-right, which currently includes 83 parties and partners from 43 countries, the President of the European Commission, 11 EU and 5 non-EU heads of state and government, 10 members of the European Commission and the largest Group in the European Parliament.