The European People’s Party (EPP) will hold its Congress on 29 and 30 March in Malta. Detailed information can be found at Co-hosted by Partit Nazzjonalista leader Simon BUSUTTIL, EPP President Joseph DAUL and EPP Secretary General Antonio LÓPEZ-ISTÚRIZ, in the presence of EPP Group President Manfred WEBER, the Congress in Malta is dedicated to securing Europe’s future and will focus on foreign and security policies as well as economic and digital realities. 2,000 participants from more than 40 countries have been invited to participate in the Congress in Malta. The list of invitees includes the EPP’s EU heads of state and government: Nicos ANASTASIADES (Cyprus), Klaus IOHANNIS (Romania), Angela MERKEL (Germany),Enda KENNY (Ireland), Viktor ORBÁN (Hungary), Andrej PLENKOVIĆ (Croatia), Mariano RAJOY (Spain), as well as the Presidents of the European Commission Jean-Claude JUNCKER, the European Parliament Antonio TAJANI and the European Council Donald TUSK. Moreover, the Deputy Prime Minister Arvils ASERADENS (Latvia), Deputy Prime Minister Pavel BĚLOBRÁDEK (Czech Republic), Vice Chancellor Reinhold MITTERLEHNER (Austria), Deputy Prime Minister Kris PEETERS (Belgium), Minister of Foreign Affairs Angelino ALFANO (Italy), Minister of Finance Petteri ORPO (Finland), Minister of Justice Søren PAPE POULSEN (Denmark), Minister of Defence Margus TSAHKNA (Estonia), party leaders Boyko BORISSOV (Bulgaria), Béla BUGÁR (Slovakia) and opposition leadersFrançois FILLON (France), Janez JANŠA (Slovenia), Pedro PASSOS COELHO (Portugal), Sybrand BUMA (The Netherlands),Anna KINBERG BATRA (Sweden), Gabrielius LANDSBERGIS (Lithuania), Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS (Greece), Grzegorz SCHETYNA (Poland) and Marc SPAUTZ (Luxembourg) have also been invited.Non-EU heads of state and government Erna SOLBERG (Norway), Doris LEUTHARD (Switzerland), Petro POROSHENKO(Ukraine), Serzh SARGSYAN (Armenia), Emil DIMITRIEV (FYROM), Isa MUSTAFA (Kosovo), Aleksandar VUČIĆ (Serbia), Mladen IVANIĆ (Bosnia and Herzegovina) and opposition leaders Mikheil SAAKASHVILI (Georgia), Lulzim BASHA (Albania), Maia SANDU(Moldova) have been invited. Accreditation Journalists wishing to attend the EPP Congress must register by 15 March 2017 at 13:00 CET via the dedicated e-form at:

Read more

For more information:

Karine Milheiro
Head of Press Department +32-2-2854142

Note to editors:

The EPP is the largest and most influential European-level political party of the centre-right, which currently includes 82 parties and partners from 43 countries, the President of the European Commission, 9 EU and 4 non-EU heads of state and government, 10 members of the European Commission and the largest Group in the European Parliament.