The European People’s Party (EPP) will hold its Statutory Congress on 20 and 21 November in Croatia. Detailed information can be found at Co-hosted by Prime Minister of Croatia and Hrvatska demokratska zajednica (HDZ) leader, Andrej PLENKOVIĆ, and EPP President Joseph DAUL and EPP Secretary General Antonio LÓPEZ-ISTÚRIZ, the Congress in Zagreb will focus on effective policies to combat climate change, on empowering the younger generations and the Western Balkans. The Congress will also elect the EPP Presidency, including the President, Vice-Presidents, Treasurer and Secretary General. 2,000 participants from more than 40 countries have been invited to participate in the Congress in Zagreb. The list of invitees includes the EPP’s EU heads of state and government: Nicos ANASTASIADES (Cyprus), Boyko BORISSOV (Bulgaria), Klaus IOHANNIS (Romania), Krišjānis KARIŅŠ (Latvia), Angela MERKEL (Germany), Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS (Greece) and Leo VARADKAR (Ireland) as well as the President of the European Commission Jean-Claude JUNCKER, the European Council President Donald TUSK and the President-Elect of the European Commission Ursula VON DER LEYEN. Deputy Prime Ministers Hugo DE JONGE (The Netherlands) and Koen GEENS (Belgium), party leaders Béla BUGÁR (Slovakia), Sebastian KURZ (Austria),  Helir-Valdor SEEDER (Estonia), Markus SÖDER (Germany), and opposition leaders Silvio BERLUSCONI (Italy), Pablo CASADO (Spain), Adrian DELIA (Malta), Frank ENGEL (Luxembourg) Janez JANŠA (Slovenia), Ulf KRISTERSSON (Sweden), Gabrielius LANDSBERGIS (Lithuania), Jean LEONETTI (France), Petteri ORPO (Finland), Søren PAPE POULSEN (Denmark), Rui RIO (Portugal), Grzegorz SCHETYNA (Poland) and Marek VÝBORNÝ (Czechia) have been invited. The list of participating non-EU heads of state and government at the EPP Congress and Summit in Zagreb will be published at a later stage. The Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament Manfred WEBER will be present. Accreditation Journalists wishing to attend the EPP Congress must register by 15 November 2019 at 13:00 CET via the dedicated e-form at:

Read more

For more information contact:


Alexandra Henman

Deputy Spokesperson

+32 471 90 76 84


Angelos Athanasopoulos

National and Regional Press Director

+32 471 90 76 35